School navigation

International Law Society

L&C 2010 Jessup Moot Court Team Announced!

November 12, 2009

Adjunct professor Dagmar Butte announced Lewis & Clark Law School’s 2010 Jessup Moot Court team Tuesday.  Five students were selected out of 22 who competed in an in-school speaking and writing competition.  Professor Butte called this year’s selection, “the toughest deliberation in 18 years of doing this.”

The 2010 L&C regional Jessup team is:

  1. Lauren Cullop
  2. Dan Rowan
  3. Stephen Schwindt
  4. Vince Sliwoski
  5. Joe Terrenzio

Congratulations to the team members!  They will now begin work on a problem of international law involving bilateral treaties, the doctrine of uti possidetis juris and the right to self-determination.

The L&C Jessup team has historically performed very well in regional and national competitions.  With over 100 nations and 150 teams from the U.S. alone, the L&C team won the national championship in 2007, and placed in the top ten internationally in both 2006 and 2007!

Last year, our team’s memorial (trial brief) placed 1st in the nation and 4th internationally, and 2nd the year before.  L&C team members Troy Payne and Will Patterson placed in the top ten oralists in the international competition in 2006 and 2007, respectively.

For more information about the Jessup Moot Court competition, check out the website of the competition at .

For more information: