Class Notes: 1970s

Class Notes: 1970s


Gregory A. Karpstein ’73 was honored by the Washington County Bar Association with the 2013 WCBA Professionalism Award for his contributions to the legal community and Washington County. Karpstein is a founding member of Karpstein & Verhulst in Hillsboro, Oregon.

Ron Pomeroy ’73 started a business selling giclées of paintings he creates using fine wines and beers. His website features images ranging from the whimsical to the abstract.

John A. Bennett ’75, a shareholder and member of the board of directors of Bullivant Houser Bailey, was named a fellow of the American College of Trial Lawyers. Bennett has also been selected for inclusion in The Best Lawyers in America 2014. His current practice predominantly involves first-party insurance coverage and defense of claims for extra-contractual damages.


Emil R. Berg ’75 presented a CLE program—Owner Liability and Insurance Coverage for Permissive Use of Motor Vehicles Under Idaho Law—at the October meeting of the Idaho State Bar’s Litigation Section.

C. Akin Blitz ’75 received the Oregon Association Chiefs of Police Karlyn Campbell Award in recognition of his decades of distinguished service as legal advisor to the Oregon Association Chiefs of Police and as an effective advocate for police agencies and their leadership teams.

Lawrence “Larry” Evans ’75 joined Jordan Ramis as a shareholder. Evans specializes in meeting the needs of small to medium-size businesses. He has more than 35 years of experience working with clients in a number of areas, including business and corporate law, mergers and acquisitions, and commercial real estate.


Jack D. Hoffman ’76 was appointed to the 2013 board of directors of the Arts Council of Lake Oswego, Oregon.

Scott Sorensen-Jolink ’76 was selected for inclusion in The Best Lawyers in America 2014 in the area of family law. He continues to work as a trial attorney while shifting his career emphasis to family law mediation, arbitration, and reference judging in Portland and around the state.


Lance Caldwell ’77 was named a fellow of the American College of Trial Lawyers. Caldwell is a sole practitioner specializing in federal white-collar criminal defense, expert services, and consulting. His practice also includes civil and criminal case mediation services. He can be reached at


Thomas H. Gerken ’78 was elected to serve a three-year term as District 17 representative on the board of governors of the Ohio State Bar Association. Gerken is a former president of the Hocking County Bar Association and served as a judge of the Hocking County Common Pleas Court for more than 23 years. He is also a former Vinton County Common Pleas judge.

The Honorable Gayle Natchigal ’78 retired from the Oregon Circuit Court bench at the end of August. Traveling is now at the top of Natchigal’s list and she particularly looks forward to spending time visiting her daughter and grandson in Spain.


Michele Longo Eder ’79 was appointed by Governor John Kitzhaber to serve on the board of trustees of Oregon State University.

K. William Gibson ’79 is the 2013 recipient of the Samuel S. Smith Award, the highest honor bestowed by the ABA Law Practice Management Section. The award recognizes an individual who has demonstrated outstanding lifetime achievement in the field of law practice management.

Jerret E. Sale ’79 was named a Washington 2013 Super Lawyer by Super Lawyers Magazine and selected for inclusion in The Best Lawyers in America 2014. Sale heads the appellate department for the Seattle office of Bullivant Houser Bailey.

Mark Tratos ’79, founding shareholder of the Las Vegas office of Greenberg Traurig, was named chair of the National Judicial College (NJC) board of trustees. Tratos focuses his practice on a variety of intellectual property, entertainment and litigation matters involving trademark, copyrights, domain names, rights of publicity and privacy law, brand development and protection strategies, and enforcement and infringement litigation. Tratos is vice chair of the Lewis & Clark Board of Trustees and chair of the Lewis & Clark Law School Board of Visitors.