School navigation


Twentieth Annual Mentor Awards Presented

April 19, 2016

  • Greg Jones, 1L, and his mentor Ron Cheng '14

The Twentieth Annual Mentor Awards presentation was held on April 14, 2016 at Red Star Tavern, with a wonderful celebration to close out the formal mentor program this year.  Several mentors were recognized for the generosity of time, commitment and friendship they provided to their student mentees beginning in the 2015-16

school year.  

First Year Outstanding Mentor Awards:

Four mentors who worked with first year students were selected for recognition as outstanding mentors. The award recipients were each nominated by their mentees, who made the presentations and described how their mentors went above and beyond to support and advise them in their first year in law school. The recipients of the First Year Outstanding Mentor Awards were Courtney Johnson ’07, who mentored Danielle Elefritz; Anthony Kuchulis ’08, who mentored Kadin Pasley; Andrew Lavin ’03, who mentored Evan Christopher; and Cathy Meyer ’13, who mentored Alysha Van Zante.

Outstanding Transfer Student Mentor Award:

This year a new mentoring category and award was established – Outstanding Mentor to a Transfer Student. Being a transfer student brings unique issues, experiences and adjustments, and may require a mentor to take a different approach, considering the student’s specific situation. Lekha Fernandes 2L, presented the award to her mentor, Sheeba Suhaskumar ’14.

Hon. Darlene Ortega Outstanding Mentor Award:

Several years ago, the Honorable Darlene Ortega Award was inaugurated to honor a mentor who worked with multiple mentees, both individually and as a group. For several years, Raife Neuman ’08 has successfully mentored more than one mentee, often adding to the group a few “unofficial mentees” he’s adopted along the way. Raife was nominated by one of his three mentees, Mark McCarter 1L.

Andrea Swanner Redding Outstanding Mentor Award:

The Andrea Swanner Redding Outstanding Mentor award, named in honor of one of the founders of the Law School’s Mentor Program, was presented to Ron Cheng ’14 by his mentee, Gregory Jones 1L. In his nomination, Greg wrote that Ron has been an outstanding mentor by taking the time to get to know Greg personally, and to tailor his mentoring to meet Greg’s interest in getting hands-on experience. Every Friday, Greg spends time in Ron’s office, working on assignments that Ron supervises and critiques. Greg finished his nomination with “everyone should get a mentor like Ron Cheng.”

Outstanding Mentee Award:

In addition to the awards presented to mentors, the Law School invites mentors to nominate their student mentee, to recognize a mentee who went above and beyond to make the mentoring experience a positive one for themselves and for their mentor.  This year, mentor Ron Cheng ’14 presented the Outstanding Mentee Award to 1L Gregory Jones.

We are grateful to all the alumni and friends who generously give of their time to help and support our students. 

Learn more about the Law School’s Mentor Program.


Share this story on


Contact Us