September 26, 2016

Abbey Hendricks ’17 wins national writing competition

Third-year student Abbey Hendricks is one of the American College of Employee Benefits Counsel’s writing competition winners.

The American College of Employee Benefits Counsel (ACEBC) announced the winners of its Twelfth Annual Employee Benefits Writing Competition.

Third-year Lewis & Clark Law School student Abbey L. Hendricks ’17 is the winner of the Sidney M. Perlstadt Memorial Award. Deepa Das Acevedo, of the University of Chicago Law School, was the other winner, receiving the Alvin D. Lurie Memorial Award.

Hendricks received a prize of $1,500 and a copy of the Employee Benefits law treatise published by the Bloomberg BNA. Her winning article, written as her Capstone paper under the supervision of professor Henry Drummunds, was titled “Multiemployer Pension Plans: Reforms to Sustain and Innovate” and will be submitted to national journals for publication review. Hendricks was honored at the ACEBC’s awards dinner in Philadelphia, PA, on September 17, 2016.

The mission of the ACEBC is “fostering excellence in the practice of employee benefits law and advancing public understanding of employee benefits.” The writing competition is open to all law students nationally. Other projects of the ACEBC include initiating professional discussions and high level symposiums regarding significant employee benefits issues, offering a searchable data base of Fellows who are willing to serve as expert witnesses and/or mediators, co-sponsoring continuing legal education programs, and recognizing the achievements of distinguished employee benefits attorneys.

The winning articles were selected based on depth and creativity of legal analysis; thoroughness of legal research; organization and writing style; difficulty of subject matter; and consideration of labor, tax or other employee benefits policy implications.

Congratulations to Abbey on her well-deserved award!