November 02, 2017

Oregon State Bar Honors Lewis & Clark Alums and Faculty

A number of Lewis & Clark Law School alumni and an adjunct professor are among those receiving recognition by the Oregon State Bar Annual Awards.

The Oregon State Bar presents its annual awards this month honoring a select group of lawyers and judges who have made outstanding contributions to the community and the profession. The awards are based on nominations from members and the public. A number of the 2017 awardees are affiliated with Lewis & Clark Law School.

The bar’s highest honor, the Award of Merit, recognizes Lewis & Clark alum Donald B. Bowerman ’59 “an Oregon lawyer who has made outstanding contributions to the bench, the bar and the community at large, and who exhibits the highest standards of professionalism.”

John E. Grant ’07joins Hon. Christopher L. Garrett to receive the President’s Special Award of Appreciation. This award is presented to members who have made recent outstanding contributions to the bar, the bench and/or the community.

Adjunct law professor Christopher G. Winter joins William H. Sherlock in receiving the President’s Sustainability Award, recognizing members who have made “significant contributions to the goal of sustainability in the legal profession in Oregon through education, advocacy, leadership in adopting sustainable business practices, or other significant efforts.”

The Edwin J. Peterson Professionalism Award will be presented to Julia Hagan ’84. Specifically, this award recognizes an individual who “promotes the efficient resolution of disputes and completion of transactions and regardless of the intensity of a matter or case consistently treats all others with courtesy and dignity while effectively and fairly serving the best interests of her clients.”

Full details on the awards can be found here

“We congratulate Don, John, Julia and Christopher – and all of the awardees – for these well-deserved recognitions by the Bar,” said Lewis & Clark Dean Jennifer Johnson. “They serve as worthy examples for our students of outstanding professionals serving our community.”