School navigation

Advocate Magazine

Mentor Awards

April 1, 2015

The law school’s long-standing Mentor Program matches students with attorneys who volunteer to provide personalized guidance.

These mentors offer law students advice on how best to manage their time, make career decisions, develop as ethical professionals, and transition from law school to employment. During the 19th Annual Mentor Awards presentation, held at Portland’s Red Star Tavern, we recognized several of these volunteers for their contributions of time, knowledge, and friendship to students during the 2014-15 academic year.

This year’s First-Year Mentor Award recipients were Nick Dazer ’00, who mentored Dan Murphy ’17; Julie Engbloom, who mentored Danielle Richardson ’17; Maura Fahey ’13, who mentored Kathrin Sears ’17; and Charlie Parrott ’10, who mentored James Fraser ’17.

Dmitriy Golosinskiy ’17 and C.J. Graves ’13Dmitriy Golosinskiy ’17 and C.J. Graves ’13

The Honorable Darlene Ortega Mentoring Award went to C.J. Graves ’13 and Jackie Swanson ’13, who worked as a pair to mentor a number of students both as a group and individually. Mentees Kelsey Benedick ’17, A.C. Figueroa- Estacio ’17, and Dmitriy Golosinskiy ’17 made the presentation.

The Andrea Swanner Redding Outstanding Mentor Award, named in honor of one of the founders of our mentor program, was presented by Justin Curtiss ’16 to Dan Eller ’04.

Justin Curtiss ’16 and Dan Eller ’04Justin Curtiss ’16 and Dan Eller ’04

We also invited mentors to nominate students who went above and beyond to make the mentoring experience a positive one for both parties. This year’s Outstanding Mentee Award was presented by Melina LaMorticella ’10 to Laney Ellisor ’17.

To learn more about the Mentor Program, visit

Share this story on

Advocate Magazine

Contact Us