Student Recognition

The students mentioned received support through one or more of the following scholarships: the Dean’s Scholarship, Steven Manas Memorial Scholarship, Trillium Grant, and the Rose E. Tucker Charitable Trust Annual Scholarship - Law.

Clockwise from the top left: Kelsey Furman '21, Lizzy Pennock '21, Hillary Fidler '21, and Bridge... Clockwise from the top left: Kelsey Furman ’21, Lizzy Pennock ’21, Hillary Fidler ’21, and Bridgett Buss ’20.

Diehl Environmental Law Fellows Announced

Now in its second year, the Diehl Environmental Law Fellowship Program has distributed a $40,000 stipend to each of the 2021 recipients, allowing them to provide public-interest environmental law support to nonprofit organizations.

  • Bridgett Buss ’20 is serving as a fellow at Earthrise at Lewis & Clark.
  • Hillary Fidler ’21 is working at the nonprofit FEED Social Equity.
  • Kelsey Furman ’21 is working at KS Wild as its first Conservation Fellow.
  • Lizzy Pennock ’21 is working in the wildlife program of WildEarth Guardians.

John E. Diehl was an active environmentalist in Washington and named Lewis & Clark Law School in his bequest, supporting a fellowship program for graduates who are “dedicated to resource conservation, wilderness and wildlife habitat and preservation, or human population stabilization.”

Matthew Campa '22 Matthew Campa ’22Matthew Campa ’22 Named Wyss Scholar

Matthew Campa ’22 is Lewis & Clark’s fourth Wyss Scholar. He grew up in a predominantly agricultural and Hispanic community in California, which set him on his path to work on land and resource conservation. Campa used his fellowship to fund a summer 2021 law clerkship with Earthrise at Lewis & Clark Law School.

The Wyss Foundation is a private charitable organization dedicated to Western public lands issues. Its Scholars Program supports graduate-level education for the next generation of leaders in Western land conservation. Lewis & Clark was one of the first law schools to be included in the Wyss Scholars Program.

More 2021 Awards

  • NR-Env Leader: Harrison Beck ’21, Victoria Frankeny ’21, Alex Houston ’21, and Lizzy Pennock ’21
    The funding for this award is made possible by a generous contribution from Professor Dan Rohlf and Dennis Treacy ’83.
  • Manas Scholarship: Kelly Chang ’22 and Dara Illowsky ’22
    The Manas Memorial Scholarship was established in 1986 by friends and family of Steven Manas, who died in a kayaking accident while he was in his third year at Lewis & Clark.
  • O’Rourke Award: Connor McDermott ’21 and Michael Benjamin Smith ’21
    This award recognizes the author of Lewis & Clark’s best environmental paper.
  • Williamson Public Interest Award: Maddy Munson ’21
    This award recognizes an outstanding graduating student who intends to work in public-interest environmental law.
  • Distinguished Environmental Law Graduates: Kevin Minoli ’00, Peter “Mac” Lacy ’01, Maura Sullivan ’07, Melissa Lewis LLM ’08, and U.S. Representative Earl Blumenauer BA ’70, JD ’76
    These awards honor graduates who have made significant contributions to the environmental or natural resources law and policy fields.

Training Climate Change Leaders

Fall-2021, Training Climate Change Leaders

#1 in Environmental Law—Again

U.S. News & World Report ranks the law school’s Environmental Law Program the best* in the country for 2022, continuing Lewis & Clark’s record of taking the first or second spot in the rankings for the last 25 years.
Fall-2021, Training Climate Change Leaders
Professor Lisa Benjamin


Students and alumni mentioned in this article received support through one or more of the following scholarships: the Dean’s Scholarship and Harpole Memorial Scholarship.
Fall-2021, Training Climate Change Leaders


Earthrise, Green Energy Institute, and Global Law Alliance news.