Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Committee

Established in 2007 as the Diversity Working Group, the Law School’s Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Committee is charged with fostering an environment that supports the success and inclusion of faculty, staff, and students from groups that have experienced systematic, societal discrimination. The committee supports the law school’s commitment as a professional school to developing the cultural competency of our campus community and to promote equitable access to justice and to the profession.

The committee evaluates goals at the beginning of each academic year and has set many important initiatives in motion ranging from faculty and staff training sessions, film screenings, resource development, collaboration with student groups, policy development, and recommendations, incident response, climate surveys, and more. The committee also plans and facilitates our “Opt-In” training series for students, staff, and faculty.

Student Representatives: The Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee includes two student representatives that students are welcome to reach out to. The Student Bar Association also includes a Vice President of Equity & Inclusion that students are invited to contact.

Committee Members

Membership on the committee changes annually. The 2023-2024 members are:

If you have feedback to share with the committee, please reach out to either the committee chair or to the Director of Equity, Inclusion & Academic Resources.