School navigation

Tax Law


Lewis & Clark is fortunate to have an excellent tax faculty. This presently includes three full-time professors with a strong interest in tax, and a band of talented and dedicated adjunct tax professors.

Full-Time Tax Faculty

The tax faculty at Lewis & Clark Law School offer an exceptional combination of excellence in teaching, scholarly achievement, and experience in practice. Its three full-time tax professors possess close to 100 years of teaching and practice experience in this ever-changing, ever-challenging field.

John A. Bogdanski Federal Income Taxation, Corporate Taxation, Estate and Gift Taxation, Partnership Taxation, Advanced Tax Seminar, ABA Law Student Tax Challenge
Lawrence R. Brown Federal Income Taxation, Corporate Taxation, Estate and Gift Taxation, Partnership Taxation, Advanced Tax Seminar, International Taxation
Jan R. Pierce Leads the Law School’s Low-Income Taxpayer Clinic

Adjunct Tax Faculty

At Lewis & Clark Law School, dynamic practitioners enrich the classroom experience by teaching tax-related courses from a practical perspective. The current roster of adjunct professors includes several Portland practitioners with national reputations.

Keene Studio/Edmund Keene Photographers, 2007James F. Ambrose joins the faculty this year to teach Qualified Retirement Plans. Ambrose is a partner in the Portland office of the law firm Davis Wright Tremaine LLP. His practice focuses on design, implementation, and operation of all manner of pension, profit-sharing, and deferred compensation plans. He has also written about purchases of sports franchises, and the impact of the tax laws on sports generally. Ambrose is a frequent speaker on retirement plans, professional corporations, and taxation of fringe benefits. A member of the Oregon and California Bars, he is an honors graduate of Loyola Law School and the University of Notre Dame.

Dan Eller joins us from Schwabe, Williamson & Wyatt.  He focuses his practice in the areas of tax and business law, advising clients with both transactional and controversy matters. His transactional practice emphasizes choice of entity and formation; mergers and acquisitions; real property development transaction structuring; and tax-exempt entity formation, qualification, and operation. He is the assistant practice group leader for the firm’s tax group. Dan is a member of the firm’s Business Transitions Group, a multidisciplinary team of attorneys who counsel business owners on how to maximize, capture and keep the wealth created in their closely held businesses.  

Gersham Goldstein teaches Taxation of Real Estate Transactions Seminar.
 A partner with Stoel Rives, Goldstein concentrates his practice primarily in federal and state taxation matters, including income taxation of individuals, partnerships and corporations, and estate planning. He is editor in chief of the journal CorporateTaxation and compiler of the Index to Federal Tax Articles.Goldstein collaborated with Professors Boris I. Bittker and James S. Eustice to produce the seventh edition of Federal Income Taxation of Corporations and Shareholders. An extensive lecturer to tax institutes and bar groups, he has also been a faculty member of the N.Y.U. Graduate Tax Workshop for many years. Goldstein earned his bachelor’s degree from City College of New York, his J.D. from the University of Pennsylvania Law School, and his LL.M. in taxation from New York University School of Law.

Advisors to the Tax Program

Several of the law school’s key advisors are also prominent tax professionals. These and other friends of the law school generously counsel students with an interest in taxation and provide guidance and perspective to the tax law program.

Ray Benner, a 1966 graduate of the law school and a long-time dean of retirement planners in Oregon, advises the law school on curricular matters relating to pension law.

Henry Breithaupt, the judge of the Oregon Tax Court, is an adviser to the law school on moot courts and similar tax-related programs.

Bruce Crocker, vice president, taxes, of the Hillman Company and an alumnus of the law school, serves as a member of the law school’s Board of Visitors.

Carr Ferguson, vice chair of the Lewis & Clark College Board of Trustees and past chair and current member of the law school Board of Visitors, is senior counsel in the New York law firm Davis Polk & Wardwell and former assistant U.S. attorney general in charge of taxation.

Alan Jensen, former member of the law school faculty and currently a partner in the Portland office of the international law firm Holland & Knight, serves as a liaison between the law school’s tax program and the practitioner community.

Wayne Perry, who graduated from the law school with honors in 1975 and went on to obtain a master’s degree in taxation, is chief executive officer of Edge Wireless and former vice chairman of NEXTLINK and AT&T Wireless. In 2005, Mr. Perry was honored as the law school’s first Distinguished Business Law Graduate.

Mack Shively, assistant general counsel of Portland General Electric Company, Oregon’s largest electric utility, is an alumnus of the law school, the holder of a master’s degree in taxation, and a member of the Board of Visitors.