Coronavirus Information and Update: Fall 2021 Plans

Symposium

10th Annual Animal Law Review Symposium

Our 10th Annual Animal Law Review Symposium has now concluded. We’re pleased to share recordings of presentations that were open to the public (click presentation title below to access the recording from Lewis & Clark Law School’s YouTube channel). Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, Animal Law Review collaborated with Lewis & Clark’s Animal Legal Defense Fund to curate a semester-long, webinar speaker series. 

At the Crossroads: Fighting for Change in an Interconnected World

Every year the annual Animal Law Review Symposium has a theme that reflects the dynamic and groundbreaking nature of the animal law field. The theme for our symposium this year was At the Crossroads: Fighting for Change in an Interconnected World. Lawyers, scholars, and activists examined the various institutions, systems, and categorizations that produce and perpetuate interconnected forms of oppression. The symposium events were as follows—to access video, click on the presentation title.

Recognizing & Addressing Burnout

  • Speakers: Kathy Hessler & Cami Hoffman
  • Date + Time: January 27th, 2021, 12:10-1:10 PM PST
  • Description: Awareness is the genesis of change, so come learn how to recognize and address the warning signs of burnout and fatigue. We will also be learning how animals can help us reconnect with our intuition and fuel our paths toward a more personal and sustainable sense of justice.
A Conversation on the Presidential Election, the State of our Democracy, & Animal Advocacy 
(Because this event was limited to current Lewis & Clark Law Students, video is not available)
  • Conversation moderator: Kathy Hessler
  • Date + Time: February 5th, 2021, 12:10-1:10 PM PST
  • Description: Following our first Symposium event, LC ALDF, ALR, and Professor Hessler will be holding an informal Zoom session where students can have a safe space to discuss the extraordinary nature of current events and how we are all holding up. This Zoom session will allow students to discuss the election, the status of our government and democracy, and the work for animals in this evolving and challenging context. We will also address the question ‘why work on animal issues?’ during these challenging times and how to fortify ourselves for the challenges that are still to come. Again, this will be an informal session for students to openly discuss these issues in a safe environment. We know the past year has been extremely difficult, and the future can seem scary. Come find comfort, useful tips, and a sense of community with us!
  • Speaker: lauren Ornelas
  • Date + Time: February 10th, 2021, 12:10-1:10 PM PST
  • Description: In this speaker event, sponsored by the Animal Legal Defense Fund and

    co-sponsored by Lewis & Clark Law School’s Food & Agriculture Law Society, lauren Ornelas of the Food Empowerment Project will examine various interconnected abuses in our food system, including non-human animal exploitation, farm worker injustices, slavery, environmental racism, and lack of access to healthy foods in Black and Brown communities and low-income areas. 

  • Speaker: Randall Abate
  • Date + Time: March 3rd, 2021, 12:10-1:10 PM PST
  • Description: In this presentation, Professor Abate will draw on lessons from history, politics, and law to illustrate how animal law can learn from environmental law and how the two fields can work together to secure mutual gains.
  • Speakers: Brittany Hill, Kathleen Wood, & Lavita Nadkarni
  • Date + Time: March 11th, 2021, 12:10-1:10 PM PST
  • Description: Despite growing awareness that animal maltreatment is often a sign of deviant behavior and frequently linked to other forms of interpersonal violence, attorneys and mental health professionals may find themselves lacking practical guidance in these cases. During this session, presenters will trace the steps involved in animal maltreatment cases from investigation, assessment, adjudication, and treatment, focusing on the roles of mental health professionals and attorneys at each stage of the process. Key themes include increasing awareness of the range of options for assessment and treatment, including collaboration between attorneys and mental health professionals, and acknowledging that effective interventions should not take a “one-size-fits-all” approach.
  • Speaker: pattrice jones
  • Date + Time: March 17th, 2021 4:00-5:30 PM PST
  • Description: In this presentation, writer, educator, and activist pattrice jones will analyze the connections between queer rights, feminism, and animal liberation.
  • Speaker: Aysha Akhtar
  • Date + Time: March 31st, 2021, 1:00-1:00 PM PST
  • Description: In this presentation, co-sponsored by Lewis & Clark Law School’s Health Law Society, Dr. Aysha Akhtar will explore the ways in which animal testing harms humans, the barriers to systemically shifting away from animal models, and possible solutions moving forward.
  • Speaker: Michelle Rojas-Soto
  • Date + Time: April 7th, 2021, 12:10-1:10 PM PST
  • Description: In this interactive workshop, co-sponsored by Lewis & Clark Law School’s Minority Law Student Association, participants will be introduced to best practices in creating racial equity action plans that lead to sustainable, meaningful, and measurable improvements for internal and external stakeholders of the global majority. Michelle Rojas-Soto will use a Results-Based Accountability framework to focus on specific actions, indicators and outcomes to eliminate racial disparities and strengthen our animal advocacy.
For questions or concerns, please contact Miranda Eisen, Symposium Editor of Animal Law Review, at sym-animallaw@lclark.edu.